New kid with a block

I am now the proud owner of my very first hat block! This came hand-delivered this afternoon and I’m very chuffed with it. It’s a 23″ cloche block with a nice patina but hardly any other wear and tear. I think it should double up well as a dolly block for making headpieces as well. Sadly my millinery course is coming to an end, so my plan is to collect a few ‘starter’ pieces – blocks, display heads, a steamer – and set about practicing and making some of my own pieces to build up some work that I can add to my portfolio and hopefully sell too.

The green feather pad pinned to the block is a work in progress – it needs a little trimming to finish it off on the upper edge and I haven’t decided yet what style would be best. The feathers are mounted on a purple felt pad so I will probably stick with this and use purple for the trim too. Another photo to come when it’s done.

Leave a Reply

