Home Hat Factory

Over the last few weeks I have been collecting bits and pieces so that I can do some hatmaking at home. Of course to work with felts you need a good jet of steam. I had been woefully looking at the price of a Jiffy steamer for some time and was just about to take the leap with my credit card and order one, when my millinery tutor suggested a stove top kettle instead… it works brilliantly, and at a fraction of the price. Hurray! So I have been happily steaming away at my little workstation above.

Here’s a wee preview of what I’ve been trying out:

It started out as an idea for using up some offcuts, so there’s no plan – I’ll just see where it ends up 🙂

Leave a Reply

