The Finished Article

Richard in his lovely Italian 3-piece and me in the homemade, enjoying the sunset at Brooklyn Botanic Garden just before the gorgeous wedding ceremony

Richard in his lovely Italian 3-piece and me in my homemade, enjoying the sunset at Brooklyn Botanic Garden just before Ruchi & Raghav’s gorgeous wedding ceremony – in the glass house behind us!

Not the best photo of me, but one of only two that show the sweetheart back detail I was going for!

Not the best photo of me, but one of only two that show the sweetheart back detail I was going for…

This is the other photo - still dancing away at 3am with Sabrina :)

… and this is the other photo – still dancing away at 3am with Sabrina 🙂

This was just to share the dress, for those who have followed the progress of it! I was still hemming the last little bits the night before our flight but I was happy with how it turned out, in spite of all the little things I would have loved to tweak (which I think may be the curse of all creative perfectionists). Richard and I had an amazing time in NY and particularly enjoyed Brooklyn, but I think that is a story for a whole separate post!

3 responses to “The Finished Article

  1. Alright Towera

    Cheers for popping by my wee bloggy and making my day by informing me I’m big on Google amongst the demographic of people who are researching stake warping 🙂

    I see you are a maker if hats. This makes me happy, as I have a woman close to me who would appreciate a beautiful handmade hat with an impeccable pedigree. We need to have a conversation after Easter. Can you work with felted worsted cloth?

    • Hey Andrew,
      Well thank you for having a look round my blog too and for the kind words! And a special lady deserves a special hat so this sounds like a fun conversation.
      To your question: would this be a felted worsted cloth that you had woven? 🙂 For a pattern-cut hat, yes, for a blocked hat, I think so but I’d have to try it. From my limited knowledge of the making of milliners’ felts, I think they use short staple length fibres, whereas worsteds use longer staple lengths I think? My only thought is that this might affect how well the felt can be shaped, but I can’t really see why it wouldn’t work. I’ll do a bit of research and let’s definitely have a chat after the holidays.

Leave a Reply

